Grandma G’s Monster Cookies

Wednesday was a *snow day* here in Milwaukee.

While everyone was outside trying to dig out, I was deciding what to bake.

My first mission was to come up with a gluten-free red velvet cupcake recipe.

Check. (you will be getting it soon)

Next up was cookies.  I couldn’t decide on one right away, so I grabbed a stack of books off the shelf, including the cookbook my Mamasita made me many moons ago.

She’s super crafty. And I don’t just mean she can use rubber cement and card stock. I mean craftalicious. Big time. And if you’re coming to our next GF Get Together, our big one year anniversary dinner, you might just see some of her other tricks.

Where was I? Oh, right, the cookbook.

Paging through, and look what I found!

These are my favorite kind of recipes for several reasons:

  1. From my grandma, in HER writing.
  2. Not many ingredients.
  3. Even fewer instructions. (many of you will love that part too!)
  4. NO flour. Nope. None. Nada.

Can you believe I haven’t made these before? That I’ve been keeping this secret family recipe from you?

Truth be told, I didn’t even remember this precious little recipe was in that book. But none of that matters now my friends, it is yours now.

I think it makes my mom happy to see her mom’s recipes on my site. And that, in turn, makes me happy. So many fun food related memories at my grandma and grandpa’s house. From helping in the garden to making homemade ice cream and strawberry shakes. Lefse for the holidays and “dunker” chocolate chip cookies. And I’ll never forget Grandpa’s five pounds of fudge.

What about you? Tell me about your food memories with your family and friends.

And then go make these cookies.

Gluten-Free Monster Cookies

3 eggs
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon honey
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup chunky peanut butter (or creamy)
4 cups certified gluten-free oats (Bob’s Red Mill’s Quick Cooking Oats worked wonderfully or GF Harvest oats)
1 small package chocolate chips (I used half a bag of Nestle’s Toll House)
1/2 bag of M&M’s
*you can use more or less chocolate chips and M&M’s, add in nuts, raisins, whatever makes you smile.
Straight from Grandma: Mix in a bowl in order given. Drop on ungreased cookie sheet. (*my note* if you truly want monster-size cookies, and you do, make sure you are “dropping” about 1/4 cup of dough for each cookie — they will spread, so space accordingly) Bake 13 minutes at 350 degrees. (or until done)

 

20 thoughts on “Grandma G’s Monster Cookies

  1. Pingback: Tuesday To Do List — what to buy, spy, and try! (or sometimes cry about) | Celiac in the City

  2. Pingback: Flourless Monster Cookies | Rural Route Lupiac

  3. These look fabulous! I’m going to try these with a few changes for our additional allergies. I’m going to veganize them and replace the oats with quinoa flakes and flaxseed meal. I’ve been craving something sweet but wanted to try something new and this looks like just the ticket. No m&m’s for us but I’ll just add extra chocolate chips to our half the batch and carob chips to DS’s half of the batch. Well I probably won’t give one person an entire half a batch ;o)

  4. Hey Sarah! Randomly I will check out your blog…I like when you share stories about your grandma! Anyway, any ideas on how to replace the corn syrup in this one? I have a friend that has gluten/corn/soy allergies….but think she would love these cookies. Thanks!

    • Hi Nicole! Makes me happy to see you stopping by… and Grandma Edie’s recipes are pretty awesome, just need a little tweaking sometimes. You could substitute honey in this recipe, since it is such a small amount. The next time I make them, I am going to try that. Just thought of you the other day, pizza bread popped into my head… now THAT is a recipe I need to convert!

  5. Looking forward to trying this cookie recipe! Also – recognized the “house across the street” in the photos you linked to – lots of GFer’s here in the Heights! Hope to get in on a GF Get-Together in the future! Thanks for the recipe.

    • Hi Nicole! Let me know how they turn out! The picture was actually just some I linked to, but I’m sure they are nice neighbors. 🙂 You really should join us for our one year anniversary dinner on 2/28!

  6. These look fab. I might use some agave and also add some dried cranberries or golden raisins. It’s a great sounding template. Thank you for sharing your grandma’s recipe. Those are the special ones, for sure!

  7. Hey, I have that exact same recipe and they are just as amazing as you describe. Keep the old recipes coming. 🙂

  8. Wow, you have some serious snow there! How wonderful that you found your grandmother’s recipe and there’s no flour! 🙂 This is like a cross between flourless PB cookies, flourless oatmeal cookies, and those M&M cookies that folks love. Think I’ll make these with honey instead of corn syrup and skip the M&Ms. Thanks so much for sharing!

    Hugs,
    Shirley

    • It was quite the snow day Shirley, wowza! I dig the idea of honey instead. After making them, I thought I could start doing some modifications, and corn syrup was first on the list. (I had some in the cupboard from making “Special K” type bars a while ago. All kinds of fun things you could put in them!

  9. YUMMY!!! I am going to make these!!!! My favorite memories of my grandma are her German potato salad, (she made the best!), and baked chicken. I don’t know what she did to that damned chicken, but I have not tasted one as good as hers!!! Grandma, I miss you!

Leave a comment