gluten-free croutons & creamy avocado dressing

This is the situation inside my freezer door.

It’s no secret that I’m an Udi’s fan. From the first time I got my hands on some Udi’s, I’ve been talking and writing about them. They helped get me through my meatless-week. This egg-lovin’ girl would be lost without them for my breakfasts. Shortly after they made fondue fun, I even had the pleasure of eating at their cafe in Denver.

I heart Udi’s.

Get it?

Got it?

Good.

So you can understand how my freezer door gets filled up with the ends of my loaves of bread. Same idea as the story I told you about my mom keeping black bananas in the freezer. No wasting around this house.

What do I use them for?

I’m so happy you asked.

Sometimes I tear them up and toss them in the food processor to make bread crumbs. Much cheaper than buying them at the store, and they can stay in the freezer for a long time. (use them for meatloaf, breading for chicken, magnificent meatballs that your friends make for you, all kinds of things)

But today, they were transformed into croutons.

Don’t you miss croutons sometimes?

Now you can make your own at home. In no time.

And while you’re at it, go ahead and make some creamy avocado dressing for your salad too. This was an on-the-fly dressing that turned out perfectly. Not a salad fan? You could dip chicken strips in it. Use it as a glaze for chicken, fish or any protein really. Eat it out of the container with a spoon… I’m not promoting that, just saying you could do that, if you really wanted to.

Gluten-Free Croutons & Creamy Avocado Dressing

Cut ends of loaves into large cubes. (or smaller, whatever makes you happy) Place in bowl and lightly coat with olive oil. Squeeze a little lemon juice on them too. Season with salt, pepper, garlic powder and any other spice blend you are craving. I used some that a dear friend brought home from Italy. Toss to coat and spread evenly on baking sheet. Bake in 350 degree oven until golden brown.

I didn’t add exact amounts for this, because it is such a versatile recipe. You can just use one slice of bread if you would like. Same process, and then toast the croutons in your toaster oven. If you have fresh herbs, use those. Modify it to fit your needs.

For the dressing:

1/2 avocado

juice from 1/2 lime

small handful green onion

1 tablespoon plain yogurt (you can omit this to make it dairy-free, it will still be creamy from avocado)

6 tablespoons olive oil

1 tablespoon white wine vinegar

Salt, pepper, cumin and garlic powder — season with the amount that makes your taste buds dance

Combine all ingredients using emulsion blender, until nice and smooth.ย Creamy. Oh-so-good.

See that rub on the chicken? My friend Katie was kind enough to send me some samples of gluten-free products from Wild Tree. This is the Chipotle Lime Rub. A little tangy, a little kick to it. (you could also put a couple of pinches of it into the dressing) They have a whole list of gluten-free products for us. Go check out her page.

Then come back here and tell me your favorite salad combo. My salad: romaine, red lettuce, red peppers, black beans, green onion. What’s topping your greens?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “gluten-free croutons & creamy avocado dressing

  1. My favorite salad toppings (well, my favorite salad):

    Napa Cabbage
    Avocado
    Peanuts
    Sesame Seeds
    Snow Peas
    Shredded Carrots
    Cilantro

    Homemade Soy-Ginger Dressing w/ San-J’s Reduced Sodium Tamari Soy Sauce

    Thank you for sharing the Udi’s GF crouton recipe!

    • Hi Jillian! Thanks for stopping by, huge honor! I just started using nuts in my salad in the last couple of years. For some reason before that, I was anti-nut. Silly. Thanks for the Asian salad idea!

Leave a Reply

