A gluten free “Meatless Week”

This week, I’m taking part in a meatless week with some food blogging friends. Stop by Lorna Yee’s beautiful site, The Cookbook Chronicles, to see how the meatless week got started. (and take a moment to scan through her photos, stunning)

It’s Day 4 and I am doing surprisingly well. I thought I might be missing meat by now. Sneaking strips of bacon for breakfast or making my first appearance at AJ Bomber’s for my first burger at that joint. But no, still going strong. I spent the afternoon with my good friend asparagus. Roasted it, put it on a pizza with pesto and even made a soup with it. Veggies can be fun!

I have been thinking about making more quinoa dishes lately. I sometimes forget about that tiny grain, stored in the back of the cupboard. Simple to make, yet it gets ignored. I need to do some more experimenting, but this recipe is one of my favorites. It is from Epicurious.com, Black Bean and Tomato Quinoa.

Just a couple of changes:

  • I used olive oil.
  • Didn’t do that fancy-schmance cooking technique. Not super fancy, but time consuming. Did it the first time, then realized it wasn’t necessary. Comes out the same by just cooking it according to directions on package.

You can serve it right away or at room temperature. And it’s perfect as a cold salad too. Versatile. My kind of salad.

Have you experimented with quinoa yet? What is your go-to recipe?

6 thoughts on “A gluten free “Meatless Week”

  1. SA ~ I just love reading your blog – – I need to learn how to use quinoa in more of our cooking. I always love other people’s dishes – maybe when you come this summer we can play in the kitchen and whip up some new adventures!
    Hugs!
    Melly

  2. If you do decide to go to AJ Bombers this week, the black bean burger and veggie burger are my favorites! I can’t remember if they are GF, but they’re definitely meatless πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the head’s up. Peef actually mentioned this as well. Unfortunately, most veggie burgers aren’t GF, but most definitely worth a little research. And if I have to wait until the end of the meatless week, I will. Glad you stopped by! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

